My heart aches. It knows the truth
My mind thinks it. But my lips won’t say it
Yet my heart aches. Because it knows the truth

I stand in the midst of thousands
But there is not one who knows my voice
I could share with those who say they care…
Oh yes, they care. Yet they can never understand.

My heart sinks as the truth is revealed.
Failed attempts echo the truth through my soul,
“Don’t waste your time in trying”
“No one will ever understand”

My heart aches. It knows the truth
My mind thinks it. But my lips won’t say it
Yet my heart aches. Because it knows the truth

People see me as brave,
It’s not because I wanted to be
I am seen as distant and cold,
It’s not how I meant to be
No one knows what it’s like to be me.

I had to be brave because no one ever defended me
I had to be distant because I’m usually misunderstood
I had to be cold because I’m often insulted, and hated because I don’t speak or act like everyone thinks I should

My heart aches. It knows the truth
My mind thinks it. But my lips won’t say it
Yet my heart aches. Because it knows the truth
The truth is, I stand alone in the crowd.

March 21, 2017
Written by: Klasik Krys

