Not all Movies/Shows are for Christians

Rick Warren Calls Out Christians Who Enjoy Watching Certain Content 

Pastor Rick Warren is asking Christians to use discernment and avoid the profane traps of the enemy. In a recent devotional, he says believers need to be intentional about the type of content they allow into their minds. “Some people are so open-minded their brains fall out,” Warren says. “They say, ‘I can watch that stuff. It doesn’t bother me anymore.’ That’s the problem! When you can watch and read stuff that is profane, blasphemous, evil, vile and abusive and it doesn’t bother you, you have a problem. You have become a fool.”

He continues: “Wise people protect their minds. They put on the helmet of salvation. They don’t just allow anything into their minds. They keep the poison out.” So how can Christians develop wisdom and avoid evil?

Warren says the key is staying close to the Word of God. “The first place you need to go to fill your mind with truth is God’s Word,” he says. “The more you develop the habit of spending time each day reading and studying the Bible, the wiser you will become.” The apostle Paul advised in Philippians 4:8, “Finally, brothers, whatever things are true, whatever things are honest, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue, and if there is any praise, think on these things.”

How are you exercising mental purity in these dark times? Let me know in the comments.

Retrieved from: Charisma Magazine
Issue: September 2016

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Honestly, I have watched all 3 shows but it came to a point that the homosexual, adulterous, lying, and violent nature became too much and it grieved my spirit. So I can totally agree and understand with this post. I am personally taking a stand by not watching any shows that have those sinful activities being promoted in them. Thank you for this post. Be blessed.

    Like

    1. KryScott says:

      Yes, by watching these shows it’s us showing that we’ve accepted these relationships and liftsetyles as being OK.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonymous says:

    This is true, I have problems with these movies so I don’t watch them, I can remember I was watching this episode movie and there was homosexuality in it and some creepy things, but the show was very interesting as it wasn’t base on the homosexuality that was going on, so I would watch it, but I wasn’t in agreement; until I had an attack in my sleep or something with like this girl want to draw me to her, I was frightened and got up, and right away It came in my mind like don’t watch back the show, from that time I never watch it back, even though I might still be curious of what had happened. God did not allow every thing to be written in the bible that we should do and what we shouldn’t done, that’s why He send His holy spirit, to guide us, let’s say for eg, the bible didn’t say don’t listen R&B music, so you find that a lot of Christian do listen, but when you check it out a lot of these singer sell their souls, but some Christian still sing their song, because it sounds good, but if you have spiritual discerning you would know what to sing,wear,talk,think,where to go etc. The bible talks about unequal yoke, we can’t be using the same tongue to bless and curse👀, no way. I exercise mental purity by asking the holy spirit to teach me His way, pray for Him to be the center of my motives and thoughts, and I’m seeing where i don’t have the problems i use to have, i know what to watch,read and listen, come to think of it i don’t have one single R&B in my phone😲, i only have gospel, because that’s what I choose, not that I don’t sing some of them, but I don’t attach myself to them. We all can become spiritual aware when we ask God to let the things of this world become insipid to us.

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    There a scripture that says “Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good”, at times some person tends to think I’m too casual, or weird or even bored, because I would say I don’t watch that or listen this, or I don’t do that or know what you’re talking about, but that’s their opinions. I don’t attach myself to what I don’t find relevant. Exercise your mental purity by , asking God what is for you, and what is not for you, as what is not for you is against you; you might look odd in the crowd after these decisions , but remember its for your own benefit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. KryScott says:

      That is true. Continue to stand out and don’t watch or listen to the negative shows. You become what you entertain and spend time doing. Don’t corrupt your mind.

      Like

  4. Anonymous says:

    It’s not even just movies, but a lot more: music,clothes,going some places etc, the bible may have not made mention of it, but spiritual sense would have told you not to entertain certain things and practices; God leave us to decide some of the things, so He is not going to tell you not to listen some R&B, but He will show you some things in the video or cause you to be prompt to stop listening them, but it’s up to you if you want to listen to the voice of the Lord. These things can allow you to become trap spiritual, you have to free yourself….. Demonic things like logo on some clothes attract demons to you when you’re wearing them especially if you know it’s a skull but you still choose to wear it, or listen the songs of those who sell their souls etc, you are only allowing yourself to be trap; I shared that I was watching this episode movie, it had homosexuality in it, and I was interested in watching the show, because I wanted to know what would happen in the end, however I got an attack or something in my sleep, this girl was being all seducing and drawing my hand like towards her…. I was frightened and up out of my sleep, and I heard like don’t quite remember, stop watching the show… i never continued watching it after that. This is important for all Christian to know, some will not accept as they will say they are not following it or whatever, but as the bible says” your stupid if you don’t take correction”. Set your focus on that which will empower you to be a better person and help you fulfill your purpose.

    Like

Leave a Reply

