Waiting Expectantly

on

Wait on the Lord ; Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the Lord !” Psalms 27:14 NKJV
(This devotional was prepared for a day of fasting.) 
Fasting points:

👉Consecration
👉What do I do while waiting?
👉Is my faith solid or wavering?
👉How can I start waiting expectantly?
👉God’s fast: Make breakfast, wrap it up and give a homeless person or someone who may be hungry.

Heavenly father, we marvel in the way you can show up and show off. We are grateful for the small and large blessings. We ask that you speak to us all today. We need a word from you. We clear the way and say, “let the Spirit move,” amen.

The Scripture focus says my soul waits ONLY for God. The words are so simple but carry so much faith.

How many times have we been “waiting” on God but went to start the process for him?

How many times have we said that we want to hear what God wants us to do yet we call up our friends and say, “hey, I need your help, what do you think I should do?”

I know I’m guilty of that. I’m waiting on God but on my own terms. 

I was so intent on getting married from before I left high school. Always getting into relationships then praying about it. I didn’t even ask God what he thought about the guys, much less to think of waiting on Him.

When the year started, I saw myself. So focused was I about one thing, that I allowed it to distract me from nurturing my gifts and walking in my purpose. So I stopped.

Waiting expectantly means that we don’t stop where we are until we get what we want.

It means walking with God, working for God, and believing without doubt that what we need will be granted in the right time.

Don’t Murmur.  Wait

And when they came to Marah, they could not drink of the waters of Marah, for they were bitter: therefore the name of it was called Marah.  And the people murmured against Moses, saying, What shall we drink?  And he cried unto the Lord ; and the Lord shewed him a tree, which when he had cast into the waters, the waters were made sweet: there he made for them a statute and an ordinance, and there he proved them, And they came to Elim, where were twelve wells of water, and threescore and ten palm trees: and they encamped there by the waters. Exodus 15:23‭-‬25‭, ‬27 KJV

In the verse above, we see the Israelites being thirsty and they began to murmur and complain. Where would we get water? Doesn’t God know are we are thirsty? What kind of God is this to make us die of thirst?

Because of their insistent murmuring, God told Moses to put a specific tree into the bitter water to make it sweet. But if we look at the last verse we will see that their DESTINATION had 12, TWELVE…. not 4, not 6, but 12 wells and SEVENTY coconut trees.

Some of us may be saying/doing the same thing: Murmuring in our heart.

What happened to God? Doesn’t he see I’m in need? Doesn’t he see that I can’t take anymore? Why isn’t my answer here yet?

So I encourage us, let’s wait expectantly. Matthew 6:33 says we should seek God and his righteousness FIRST, and all our needs will be given to us.

Don’t murmur and complain for your water today. Keep walking.  Tell God this 👉 “I know that you see that I’m thirty but I’m heading to my destination because I know that, at the place you created for me to stop on this journey, there will be 12 Wells and 70 coconut trees. I know that you’ll provide much more than I’m asking you for right now.”

Wait expectantly.

Leave a Reply

