The Unthinkable Hour

Prayer: Most loving and gracious God, we thank You for this beautiful day. Cleanse us of every sin and present us pure before you. I ask that You use this devotion to bless even one person who needs to hear Your words and receive all the glory and honour due into your name, amen.

Luke 12: 40
Be ye therefore ready also: for the Son of man cometh at an hour when ye think not.

Have you ever been in the act of doing something, usually sinful, and you think, “what if God were to come now?” And then you say, “No, God cannot send Jesus now.” ?  It’s like you’re saying that God will give you a chance to repent.
Have you ever thought about your future: the job you want, the car you love, getting married and  starting a family, and you think, “no, God cannot come until I’m married and buy mi house”?

I have. I remember one night in 2010 like it was yesterday.  I was in the town with my boy friend idling, I looked up into the sky and the thought crossed my mind, “would I be ready if God came now?” I knew the answer was no, so I reassured myself that He couldn’t come yet as I needed to get ready.

This is what Jesus was talking about, in an hour when we are saying that “God cannot come,” He will.  At a point in time when we think that God couldn’t possibly send Jesus, at that moment, He will come.  That is why Jesus, in Luke 12: 40, encourages us to get ready, so that when this unthinkable hour comes, we’ll be ready to look towards the heavens rather than trying to hide.

How can we get ready? Just as how we’re aware of our sinful actions while we do them, instead of continuing in them we need to stop, halt, cease, /desist immediately and say “if God were to come now, I will be ready.” 

How will we know when we’re ready?  We’d be able to think of the house, car, spouse & family and say, “The presence of God is worth much more than worldly treasures.”

In closing, I remember this song and Bible verse in which Jesus was speaking to His disciples, He asked, “Lovest thou me more than these, My child?” What will your answer be?  If we love God, we’ll always be ready,  but if we love this world more, Jesus will come only to hear us saying, “He cannot come yet.”

Shalom.

Written by: Krystelle Scott (Nia Klasik)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. jneal0 says:

    So true! Great read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

