Sometimes I go to church and feel so low and discouraged.
At this point, I’m empty-handed and my attendance is out of habit.
I sing and clap as the music dictates,
But my heart…….my heart cannot wait for the benediction to resonate

Yet the scripture says we should enter His presence with Thanksgiving.
Yet the scripture says we should go into His house with praise.
Be thankful and bless His name, that’s what the scripture says.

I wonder, how can I be thankful when I feel so burdened?
I think, where should I get it from to give Him?
I get upset because I kept giving, but not receiving in return,
Yet this God wants me to give what I know I do not have [sigh].

How can I give to God when I feel so empty?
How can I say, “thank You” when I feel so bitter?
How can I bless You when I want to curse You?

How? My eyes start to water.
How? My heart starts to break.
How? My mind starts to turn back.
But then….at this point….right here, I stop.

I listen to the voice that says, “My strength is made perfect in your weakness.”
The voice that whispers, “My grace is sufficient for all your needs.”
I hear His still small voice saying, “I will supply all your needs according to My riches in glory.”

So, the scripture says we should enter His presence with Thanksgiving.
So, the scripture says we should go into His house with praise.
Be thankful and bless His name, that’s what the scripture says.

And now I know how to give to God when I feel so empty.
It’s simple, all I need to do is tap into His resources.
It’s simple, just thank Him from His goodness, instead of from my weakness.

By: Krystelle Scott aka Nia

