• What does it mean?
  • How is it done?

Many times we get confused about what it means to have a personal relationship with God. Consequently, we may become confused as we start wondering how to have such a relationship with God, a spiritual being, and how we’ll know that we really have this relationship.

God created us all with a desire to build relationships with others, as He desires to have a relationship with us. Genesis 2:18, “Now the Lord God said, It is not good (sufficient, satisfactory) that the man should be alone…”

For me, no matter how many times I read something about having a personal relationship with God, I find myself at times wondering if I really have a personal relationship with God because I don’t “feel” like I do. As a result, I end up back at square 1, feeling as if I’m on the wrong path and wondering if such a relationship with God is possible.

Question:
What does it mean to you, to have a personal relationship with God?

A personal relationship with God, in my definition, means to turn to God with and for everything. It means to live a life of faithfulness and worship, to try my best to do what will be pleasing in His sight. Also, it means to have a closeness with God where I allow Him to speak directly to me.

Question:
How do you go about building a personal relationship with God?

How to have a personal r/ship with God:

1.  Talk to and Seek Him
Jeremiah 29:12 KJV

     “Then you shall call upon me, and find me, when you shall go and pray unto me,
and I will hearken unto you.
” 

If we seek God, actively seek His presence, then He will present Himself to us. If we say, “God, I want to talk with You everyday at 1pm,” He’ll remind us and show up for the date.

2.  Demonstrate our love for Him

John 14:15 AMP

     “If you [really] love Me, you will keep (obey) My commands.

In our friendships, we all have certain rules we follow just to prove to our friends that we love them. For e.g., we keep our friends’ secrets. What would happen if we told everyone their secrets? They wouldn’t want to be our friends any longer.

Its the same with God. How can we prove that we love Him if we don’t obey His rules? How can we expect Him to have a relationship with us if we keep doing things He dislikes?

3.  Surrender Self to Him
     Matt 22:37 AMP
    “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul
      and with all your mind (intellect).”

We have to show our friends that we are committed to them. We have to speak with them constantly, listen to their problems, support them through situations, and encourage them when they are down.

We have to do all that and more for our friends but God ONLY asks us to surrender to Him to show that we are committed.

Matt 22:37 AMP
You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul
and with all your mind (intellect).

4.  Praying is important BUT be sure to spend time listening
     1 Samuel 3:9 AMP
    “So Eli said to Samuel, Go, lie down. And if He calls you, you shall say,
     Speak, Lord, for Your servant is listening…

Listen NOT with your physical ears but with your heart.

Imagine if you had a friend who always spoke about themselves. Someone who never stopped to ask u if you’re well and who didn’t spend time listening to your problems, but wanted to share theirs.
Would you like a friend like that?

Why then do we expect God to like it?

This leads to my final point…….

5.  Treat Him as we would our best-friend/boyfriend/girlfriend/spouse.
      Psalm 42:1-2 AMP
     “AS THE hart pants and longs for the water brooks,
so
 I pant and long for You, O God. My inner self thirsts for God,
for the living God. When shall I come and behold the face of God?

Just as how we ‘miss’ our friends or our partners when we haven’t spoken to them in a while and we complain of not getting enough attention, we should do the same with God.
We should miss Him when, for some reason or the other, we forgot to pray at our usual time or didn’t get to read the bible.

In summary, having a personal relationship with God is not as difficult as it seems. We need to work on it each day and remember that we are not servants or subjects, we ARE His friends. We must talk to and seek Him, demonstrate our love for Him, surrender self to Him, pray BUT spend time listening, and treat Him as we would our best-friend/boyfriend/girlfriend/spouse.

Image result for relationship with god

