Day 13: The Quickening Spirit

September 6, 2015

Focus: The Quickening Spirit

1 Corinthians 15: 45 “And so it is written, The first man Adam was made a living soul; the last Adam was made a quickening spirit.”

This Spirit gives life.  He restores, renews, and even refreshes.

Reflection:

I had a lovely service at church today. The worship was awesome, the devotion was lovely, and the message from the preacher was simply inspirational. The speaker’s topic was, “Accept the Invitation: Stick to the Dress Code”. In a synopsis, the message was saying that once we have committed our life to God then we need to wear the garment of righteousness, and continuously check that it is spotless.

As a result of an angry outburst I had at something a friend said, I felt detached from God. I just felt disjointed. I apologised to the friend and to God but I still felt slightly disconnected.  I was reading my devotional and I read something about Jesus being the last Adam, the quickening Spirit. I thought about what this meant for a few minutes and I realised it is saying that Jesus will quicken (raise from the dead/ give life to the dead, and restore and heal any dying areas).

This Quickening Spirit reconnected that part of me that was feeling disconnected.  This Quickening Spirit, Jesus, is alive and His power is still effective.

Read previous blogs in this category:

Leave a Reply

