Day 8: Repentance – Removing the Rubbish

September 1, 2015

Focus: Repentance ~ Removing the Rubbish

The night before today, I had failed to keep up my standards set for this consecration. So today, I focus on repentance and removing the rubbish.

If I have garbage in my home and I clean the house, but refuse to empty the bin, no matter what I do, the place will still smell unpleasant. It’s the same with my Christian life, if I repent but still refuse to change my actions, I’ll continue committing the same sins, over and over.

Reflection: Repentance, in my definition, means to go beyond apologising and asking for forgiveness. It also includes making a conscious effort not to do the same thing again, and identifying where I went wrong so as to assess what I will need to do next time around.

Repenting should not leave me still feeling guilty because in 1 John 1:19, the Word promises that if we confess our sins then God is faithful and just to forgive us and cleanse us from all unrighteousness. Repenting should, instead, leave me determined to be transformed. I will be honest, after repenting and spending the day thinking about the steps I will take when the situation comes again, I felt happier and lighter. I felt redeemed.

Image result for repentance

Read previous blogs in this category:

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

