Day 1 of 16 – The Beginning

16 Days of Consecration

— began on August 25, 2015

Aim of Consecration: To commit myself to be used by God for His purpose.

Restrictions:
» Limit idle conversations and behaviours as much as possible
» Do not engage in any lustful talk or focus on the thoughts
» Give every situation to God (casting my cares on Him)
» Do not start a relationship

Do’s:
» Spend more time reading and praying
» Focus on anything God lays on my spirit and instructs me to do

Rationale:

I’ve been committing spiritual adultery. I am married to God but leave Him for men, seeking their love and companionship. I want to be faithful to God. I’ve made this proposal in my heart to forgo relationships. I wanted to do a year, initially, but that’s stretching it as I don’t want to start something I cannot fully commit to. So I dropped it to 3 months, and then to 16 days where I know that full commitment (even though it may be challenging) is possible. The idea came to document each day, ending the day with a reflection. The reason for this documentation is to hopefully encourage others to make such a sacrifice to God. I hope someone will be blessed as this is not to glorify myself but to give God all the glory in this time.

Day 1 – Aug 25, 2015

I started by praying with the Word to consecrate myself.

1 Corinthians 6:19-20: “Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own? For you have been bought with a price. So then glorify God in your body.”

Using this verse, we can pray something like this: “Lord, I am not my own. Lord Jesus, I belong to You because You bought me with such a price. Oh Lord, thank You for paying the highest price of Your own precious blood to purchase me! I am Yours. All I have and all I am are Yours. So Lord, I give you my body, my soul, and my spirit. I give you my very life. Lord, I give you my time, my energy, my education, my family, my job.” (Bibles for America)

8 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

