Retrieved from: Abstinence Until Marriage

8 WAYS CHRISTIANS CAN STAY PURE IN A SEXUALLY IMMORAL WORLD

1 – By living carefully according to God’s Word and hiding it in our hearts (Psalm 119:9-11)

Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way? by taking heed thereto according to thy word.

10 With my whole heart have I sought thee: O let me not wander from thy commandments.

11 Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.

2 – By persevering in prayer to God to stave off all temptation (Matthew 26:41)

41 Watch and pray, that ye enter not into temptation: the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.

3 – By making the conscious choice not to lust (Job 31:1; Psalm 101:3)

Job 31:1 I made a covenant with mine eyes; why then should I think upon a maid?

Psalm 101:3 I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.

4 – By walking under the control of the Holy Spirit (Galatians 5:16-25)

5 – By fleeing sexual temptations and pursuing righteousness (Matthew 5:28-30; 1 Corinthians 6:18-20, 1 Thessalonians 4:3-8; 2 Timothy 2:22)

Matthew 5:28-30 28 But I say unto you, That whosoever looketh on a woman to lust after her hath committed adultery with her already in his heart. 29 And if thy right eye offend thee, pluck it out, and cast it from thee: for it is profitable for thee that one of thy members should perish, and not that thy whole body should be cast into hell. 30 And if thy right hand offend thee, cut it off, and cast it from thee: for it is profitable for thee that one of thy members should perish, and not that thy whole body should be cast into hell.

1 Corinthians 6:18-20

1 Thessalonians 4:3-8

2 Timothy 2:22

6 – By avoiding bad associations that may stumble us into sin (Proverbs 13:20; 1 Corinthians 15:33)

Proverbs 13:20 He that walketh with wise men shall be wise: but a companion of fools shall be destroyed.

1 Corinthians 15:33 Be not deceived: evil communications corrupt good manners.

7 – By asking God’s help in marrying the right person He has in mind for you,

8 – By asking God to give you self control (1 Corinthians 7:8-9) and asking God for a godly spouse and to give you the strength to wait util He brings the right person in to your life

I say therefore to the unmarried and widows, it is good for them if they abide even as I.

But if they cannot contain, let them marry: for it is better to marry than to burn.

