Genesis 28: 10-19

The scripture indicates that Jacob went to Haran and he spent the night in a ‘certain’ place.

12 And he dreamed, and behold a ladder set up on the earth, and the top of it reached to heaven: and behold the angels of God ascending and descending on it
13 And, behold, the Lord stood above it, and said, I am the Lord God of Abraham thy father, and the God of Isaac: the land whereon thou liest, to thee will I give it, and to thy seed;
14 And thy seed shall be as the dust of the earth, and thou shalt spread abroad to the west, and to the east, and to the north, and to the south: and in thee and in thy seed shall all the families of the earth be blessed.
15 And, behold, I am with thee, and will keep thee in all places whither thou goest, and will bring thee again into this land; for I will not leave thee, until I have done that which I have spoken to thee of.
16 And Jacob awaked out of his sleep, and he said, Surely the Lord is in this place; and I knew it not.
18 And Jacob rose up early in the morning, and took the stone that he had put for his pillows, and set it up for a pillar, and poured oil upon the top of it. 19 And he called the name of that place Beth–el

The name Bethel means “the House of God” . This goes to show that even though God may speak to us anywhere, He will not meet us everywhere.

Jacob had a relationship with God but he had never yet seen Him. Once Jacob got to that spot, verse 13 says that Jacob saw God standing above the ladder and God spoke to him, made a covenant with him, and promised to keep him protected until death.

Look closely at that scripture, God was standing at His top of the ladder (the spiritual gate). When a person stands at their gate, it usually means they are waiting for something/someone. God knew that Jacob was going to stop by so He waited for Him.

Likewise, God is standing at His gate, waiting for us today.
We may not be able to go to the physical Bethel but we have a spiritual Bethel which is called “Righteousness”.

Righteousness is our ‘House of God’. It is “behaviour that is morally justifiable or right… The Bible’s standard of human righteousness is God’s own perfection in every attribute, every attitude, every behaviour, and every word” (Gotquestions.org)

No, we do not put on an act of sanctity, it means we try to find that ‘certain’ place. We try to find that holy lifestyle in this corrupted world and when we have reached that spot, we will see God and He will speak to us directly and tell us what His plans are for our lives.

God may speak to us anywhere, but He will not meet us everywhere. Let us meet God where He waits for us.

Prayer starter (this means you start with this prayer and then continue with your own words): Lord, I bless Your name and tell You thanks for this Word. I worship You as You have opened my eyes to understanding more about You. I ask You to wash me and cleanse me as I start the journey to Your gate, I want to meet You.

