Ezekiel 33:26 + 27

I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. I will put My Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and you will be careful to observe My ordinances.

“New heart”— refers to the mind and will.

“Spirit”— speaks of the motive and principle of action.

“Stony heart”—unimpressible in serious things; like the “stony ground” (Matt 13:5, 20), unfit for receiving the good seed so as to bring forth fruit.

“Heart of flesh”—not “carnal” in opposition to “spiritual”; but impressible and docile, fit for receiving the good seed. In Eze 18:31 they are commanded, “Make you a new heart, and a new spirit.” Here God says, “A new heart will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you.” Thus the responsibility of man, and the sovereign grace of God, are shown to be coexistent. Man cannot make himself a new heart unless God gives it (Php 2:12, 13).

God would give a heart of flesh, a soft and tender heart, complying with his holy will.  He is willing to change us, instead of requiring that we change ourselves.

This change is described in four ways:

(1) Negatively – as a removal of the old, stony, unsusceptible heart, which had remained resistant to all appeals and to all higher feelings (Zechariah 7:12).

(2) Positively – as a new heart and a new spirit, called elsewhere “one heart” and “a heart of flesh” (Ezekiel 11:19; Jeremiah 32:39), “a heart to know God” (Jeremiah 24:7).

(3) Causally – its existence being traced to the indwelling of God’s Spirit, who writes God’s Law upon the new heart, and inclines it to a life of obedience thereto (Jeremiah 31:33).

(4) Practically – by its manifestation, walking in God’s statutes and keeping God s judgments (Ezekiel 11:20).

Psalm 51:10

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

A “new heart” and a “new spirit” are one and the same; that is, a renewed one; renewed by the Spirit and grace of God.

A new heart must have:

~ A new principle of life

~ A new light infused

~ A new will, filled with new purposes and resolutions

~ New affections and new desires

~ New delights and joys, as well as new sorrows and troubles

In the New Testament, this transformation is called the “new man”, and the “new creature”, Ephesians 4:24.

Jeremiah 24:7

I will give them a heart to know me, that I am the LORD. They will be my people, and I will be their God, for they will return to me with all their heart.

stony heart Old HEART

What some of us need, is not a different situation, it’s not a different job, nor is it a different trial/test. What we need is a new heart.

With a heart of stone, we cannot hear what God has to say about our sticky situations. We cannot hear what He wants us to tell our co-workers, and we can’t hear His voice guiding us through our tests.

We cannot hear that still, small voice calling us into a deeper, more meaningful relationship with Him. The present state of our hearts makes us blind and keep us falling prey to our old routines.

The hardness of our heart fools us into thinking that God must be with us, that we must be living according to His will, that all must be right with God.

But God is saying, I cannot work with what U have and I will not caste you away so I’m giving U a heart that is receptive to Me. A heart that will hear My words and not rebel. A heart that trusts Me. A heart that knows how to love Me.

new heart New Heart

“Here is your new heart”, says the Lord. “Will you receive it?”

Jeremiah 24:7

I will give them a heart to know me, that I am the LORD. They will be my people, and I will be their God, for they will return to me with all their heart.

A new heart will worship Me without limits.  A new heart will love Me without doubts and fears.

“Here is your new heart”, says the Lord. “Will you receive it?”

Please note: Some of the information and the pictures are from other authors and I do not accept creative responsibility for them. However, because of laziness, I wish not to go searching once more to find all the sources. I will do better in the future.

