“Search me, O God, and know my heart today,

Try me, O Saviour, know my thoughts, I pray;

See if there be some wicked way in me;

Cleanse me from every sin, and set me free.”

“They made their hearts as hard as flint and would not listen to the law or to the words that the LORD Almighty had sent by his Spirit through the earlier prophets. So the LORD Almighty was very angry.”  Zechariah 7:12

How does my heart get hard? Sin

Sin is described in the Bible as transgression of the law of God (1 John 3:4) and rebellion against God (Deuteronomy 9:7; Joshua 1:18).

The Bible strictly warns us against rebellion, and its consequences are not to be taken lightly. God’s Word tells us that rebellion is in the same category of sin as witchcraft itself:

“For rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft, and stubbornness is as iniquity and idolatry. Because thou hast rejected the word of the Lord, he hath also rejected thee from being king.” 1 Samuel 15:23

Rebellion cuts a person off from God

God’s Word is clear that rebellion is a great way to find yourself in dry land spiritually:

“…the rebellious dwell in a dry land.” Psalms 68:6

The Bible is clear that a man who is rebellious, is a man whose heart is not right with God:

“And might not be as their fathers, a stubborn and rebellious generation; a generation that set not their heart aright, and whose spirit was not steadfast with God.” Psalms 78:8

God’s Word is clear that judgement will come upon the rebellious:

“And I will make thy tongue cleave to the roof of thy mouth, that thou shalt be dumb, and shalt not be to them a reprover: for they are a rebellious house.” Ezekiel 3:26

God has also shown me that rebellion shuts a person’s ears from being able to hear God when He tries to speak to them. The following verse also makes this clear:

“Son of man, thou dwellest in the midst of a rebellious house, which have eyes to see, and see not; they have ears to hear, and hear not: for they are a rebellious house.” Ezekiel 12:2

Sin – disobedience – causes our hearts to become hard.

If you have been rebellious, then stop! Forsake your rebellion and turn to the Lord. Repent of thy ways, that ye shall receive mercy. Rebellion is an open door to demonic spirits in a person’s life. God’s Word warns us that rebellion darkens your spiritual eyesight (discernment), and it deafens your ears to hear God’s voice.

Please note: Some of the information and the pictures are from other authors and I do not accept creative responsibility for them. However, because of laziness, I wish not to go searching once more to find all the sources. I will do better in the future.

